Wed, 19 June, 2024

4 parties announce Samajbadi Morcha (Socialist Front)

Staff Reporter Jun 19, 2023

Kathmandu : A four-party Socialist Front, comprising CPN (Maoist Centre), Janata Samajbadi Party, CPN (Unified Socialist) and Netra Bikram Chand-led Communist Party of Nepal, was announced amid a programme held in the Capital on Monday.

The four communist parties announced the formation of the Socialist Front with a common commitment to political stability along with the aim of party unification.

Maoist Centre Chairman and Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal, CPN (Unified Socialist) Madhav Kumar Nepal, Janata Samajbadi Party Chairman Upendra Yadav and Communist Party of Nepal General Secretary Chand jointly signed the Memorandum of Understanding during the announcement programme held at the City Hall in Bhrikutimandap.

According to the leaders, initial preparations are underway to create a two-level structure to operate the front while long-term preparations are being made for the formation of a coordination committee consisting of top leaders and representatives from each political party.

The parties associated with the Socialist Front will have 54 lawmakers in the House of Representatives, including 32 from the Maoist Centre, 12 from the Janata Samajbadi Party and 10 from the Unified Socialist.