Sat, 15 June, 2024

UAE clinch Tri-Nation T20I Series

Staff Reporter Oct 27, 2023

Kathmandu : The United Arab Emirates (UAE) has won the title of the Tri-Nation T20 International Series. 

In the final match held today at Tribhuvan University (TU) Cricket Ground, the UAE defeated the host by four wickets to win the title.  Chasing a target of 163 runs posted by Nepal, the UAE met it at the loss of six wickets. 

It is noted that Nepal emerged victorious against the UAE and Hong Kong in the previous four matches.  It won the first match over the UAE by seven wickets and defeated Hong Kong by six wickets in the second match. 

Likewise, Nepal defeated Hong Kong by 79 runs in its third match while it beat UAE by five wickets. For UAE, it won only a match. It made it to the finals leaving behind Hong Kong by net run rates. It defeated Hong Kong by six wickets in its first match and lost to Hong Kong by 69 runs in the second.   

In the finals today, the UAE achieved the 163 runs target in 19.5 overs losing six wickets. For the UAE, captain Muhammad Waseem hit the highest 45 runs off 22 balls with seven boundaries and two sixes.

Similarly, Vriitya Arvind contributed 26, Aryansh Sharma 25, Basil Hameed 22, Alishan Sharafu 13, and Ali Naseer 11. For Nepal, Abinash Bohara and Gulshan Jha took two wickets each, and Kushal Malla one. 

Prior to this, Nepal was invited to bat first after losing the toss and made 262 runs in 20 overs at the loss of eight wickets. 

For Nepal, Kushal Bhurtel hit a half-century off 28 balls with six fours and three sixes. Similarly, Karan KC made 23 not out off 17 balls. His score included two boundaries and one six. Dipendra Singh Airee hit 20 off 15 with one six and one four. Captain Rohit Kumar Paudel contributed 18 off 17 with one boundary, Sompal Kami scored 13, Sandip Jora 10, Aasif Sheikh seven, Gulshan Jha five and Kushal Malla one. 

Towards the bowling, the UAE’s Aayan Afzal Khan took three wickets singlehandedly followed by two each by Zahoor Khan and Ali Naseer and one by Junaid Siddique.